Outlander is a historical drama television series based on Diana Gabaldon’s ongoing novel series. Created by Ronald D. Moore, the show premiered on Starz on August 9, 2014. Caitrona Balfe plays Claire Randall, a married former Second World War military nurse in Scotland sent back in time to 1743 in 1945. There, she meets, falls in love with, and marries a handsome Highland warrior called Jamie Fraser (Sam Heughan), a Tacksman of Gabaldon’s fictionalized Clan Fraser of Lovat, and becomes involved in the Jacobite rising.

The television series’ 16-episode first season (issued in two half-seasons) is based on the first novel in the series, Outlander. From April through July 2016, the second season of 13 episodes, based on Dragonfly in Amber, aired. From September to December 2017, the 13-episode third season, based on Voyager, aired. Based on the novel Drums of Autumn, the fourth season broadcast from November 2018 to January 2019. Based on The Fiery Cross, the fifth season of 12 episodes ran from February to May 2020.

The series has been renewed for a sixth season of eight episodes and a seventh season of sixteen episodes based on A Breath of Snow and Ashes and An Echo in the Bone, respectively. The sixth season will premiere on March 6, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.